Horror and Horror-esque Podcast Recommendations for the Month of Halloween – Part 2

Here goes with part two, and just to rehash from last time, all of these are available on Apple Podcast, and pretty much everywhere you can listen to podcasts, and down below I will add a link to their websites or social media pages. All of them are free as well, but many have the option to pay for season passes or to become a Patreon supporter to unlock even more content. And if you do try to avoid certain themes, please do check for trigger warnings in episode descriptions, the episode introductions, or the websites. 

Shadows at the Door: The Podcast was not on my radar until NoSleep live, and now I love it and I listen to it the minute a new episode pops up. And I absolutely adore the “after show” discussions, mostly because the energy between Mark and David is hilarious and always makes me crack up and often times in public. It is a horror podcast created by Mark Nixon, with David Ault as most of the cast. The podcast presents a mix of original and classical horror stories. The stories themselves are often around 40-60 minutes, and after that follows 30 to 45 minutes of discussion. If you like the more classical horror stories you should definitely give it a listen, because David Ault is an amazing voice actor, and Mark Nixon is a great producer and wonderful author. 

The White Vault is a Fool and Scholar production. It is a fictional podcast following the repair team send to outpost Fristed near Ny-Ålesund in Svalbard. At first the overall “stuck in the great arctic white,” for which I have a weakness when it comes to horror stories, intrigued me. But as the show has now moved into its fourth season I’m very invested in the story, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes mystery horror, and if you have the same weakness as me, when it comes to horror books/movies/TV shows where the characters are stuck in the great white polar expanse. 

Lore is the first podcast created by Aaron Mahnke. I think this podcast falls under the “horror-esque” umbrella. It is a non-fiction podcast exploring the dark history of the world. Not only do I enjoy the history being explored, but this was also one of the first podcasts that I discovered all by myself, after Sunny got me hooked on podcasts and Welcome to Night Vale, so for that reason it has a special place in my heart. Lore is now also a TV show on Amazon Prime Video and a book series. And Aaron Mahnke, and his amazing narrator voice, has built himself a podcast empire since the podcast started. If you like horror and history this thing is for you. 

Tanis is also one of the first podcasts along with The Black Tapes that I found after getting sucked in to this whole podcast universeTanis is a production from Public Radio Alliance and is a fiction podcast. It is set up as an investigative radio show with the host Nic Silver, who is, to borrow a phrase from Sunny, “a disaster muffin with no self preservation instinct.”Nic is looking in to one of the last great mysteries along with hacker extraordinaire Meerkatnip. I love the mystery, and I highly recommend the podcast. 

The Last Movie is a sister podcast to Tanis in which Nic and Meerkatnip look in to the rumours of the existence of “The Last Movie,” supposedly an underground feature film that will drive you insane, if you watch it. This podcast is in my opinion a bit scarier than Tanis, and I like the mystery and hearing more from Nic and Meerkatnip. 

The Black Tapes and Tanis are sister podcasts to an even greater extend than Tanis and The Last MoviesThe Black Tapes follows Alex Reagan and her search for the truth of the “black tapes” that she discovers in the hands of the enigmatic Dr. Richard Strand. Alex is helped along on her search by her radio producer Nic Silver, as her and Richard discover that there might be more to Dr. Strand’s past and the mysteries hidden in the tapes than either one first assumed. This podcast is also the only completed (at least for now) podcast on this list. 

Scare You to Sleep is a podcast by Shelby Scott. It is essentially a one-woman podcast in the same vein as Creepy in which Shelby reads out podcasts in a soft quiet voice to lull you to sleep.  I like the stories a lot, but the podcast is very ASMR, so there are a few episodes that I have skipped, because certain aspects of ASMR makes me more annoyed than anything else. That being said, this is one of the few horror podcasts I have run into, which has a female host, who also narrates about 99% of the stories, and she is great at what she does, and I do find her voice oddly compelling, even if I do not actually use her podcast to fall asleep. 

And even though this podcast only just popped up on my radar three days ago, I need to mention 13 Days of Halloween. The podcast is a production from iHeart Radio, Blumhouse Television and Grim & Mild from Aaron Mahnke. The podcast welcomes the listener as the newest guest of Hawthorne Manor, where the caretaker introduces you to a new guest as you take a daily tour to other parts of the manor. Keegan-Michael Key plays the caretaker, and the audio is recorded in 3D audio, which gives you a really unique listening experience, when you listen to it with earphones. And while I don’t find the stories any more scary than anything else on this list, the audio actually freaks me out a little, and I definitely jumped, when the caretaker said “hello” from right behind me, or at least that’s what it sounded like. 

Useful links: 
@shadowsatthedoor on Twitter and Facebook
https://thewhitevault.com
https://www.lorepodcast.com
http://tanispodcast.com
http://www.publicradioalliance.com/the-last-movie
http://theblacktapespodcast.com
https://www.scareyoutosleep.com
https://www.grimandmild.com/13days


One thought on “Horror and Horror-esque Podcast Recommendations for the Month of Halloween – Part 2

Leave a comment